Tapering with high blood pressure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tapering with high blood pressure

Tapering with high blood pressure. Hi everyone. I’m nervous posting this. I’ve been drinking 6-8 beers every night for two years. I want to taper. I’m very scared and could use encouragement. I’m so afraid of withdrawals and dying or hbu f hallucinations. I’m a smaller female. Any help is appreciated

Hi there Betterlife2007 Welcome - you are in the right place for both encouragement and good accurate fact based advice. I'm fairly new here myself so will hold back on the advice side - there are a good few people who can help there and hopefully provide you with links that I can't find just now! (sorry). I can tell you that I'm a 5'4 female and last October I was at 10 drinks a night, where I had been for a looong time and had very high blood pressure (avg 185/98). I say had, because it's not high any more.

Tapering: Following advice from here I tapered over a few days like this: 10-8-6-4-2-0 and then stayed alcohol free for a few weeks, which was great. I am now in the middle of another taper after the holidays.

Withdrawals: Ugh! Nothing major: disturbed sleep, disturbed gastric patterns, brain fog for a couple of days (hated that, hence the ugh)

Doing it and being scared: Yeah, I was too. These guys held my hand every stop of the way, sympathising when it was hard, reassuring me about the withdrawals (there's an assessment tool you can use to decide if you are tapering too fast), giving me encouragement that I sorely needed, and inspiring me with their stories and making me laugh. The best thing of all is that if you slip up or are worried they've got your back.